Invited Speakers

International 4 Corners of Cardiology Meeting 2022

The 4 Corners of Cardiology Meeting Organising Committee would like introduce the following invited speakers as part of the 2022 program. Our international speakers will not be attending in person, however, their presentations will be streamed virtually to attendees. 

Risk Factors and Prevention

International Speakers

Prof Børge Nordestgaard

Professor Børge G. Nordestgaard, MD, DMSc
University of Copenhagen, & Chief Physician, Copenhagen University Hospital, Denmark
In 1985 he graduated as a medical doctor from University of Copenhagen. Scientific education included 2 years at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, and 2 years St. Thomas’s Hospital in London, UK. Prof. Nordestgaard has for more than 35 years continued his interest in the pathogenesis, diagnosis and treatment of hyperlipidemia, atherosclerosis, diabetes and cardiovascular disease, and has written extensively on these conditions. He is chairing the Copenhagen General Population Study and is also a steering committee member of the Copenhagen City Heart Study and of 4 large randomised intervention trials. Prof. Børge G. Nordestgaard has supervised 65 Ph.D. students and 31 postdoctoral fellows, and has published 818 original articles and 125 reviews, book chapters, consensus statements, & editorials. His H-index is 130 in Web of Science and he is listed among the 6389 researchers World-wide with the most highly cited papers.

Prof David Wood

Professor David Allan Wood
Emeritus Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine
Professor Wood is a cardiologist committed to prevention of cardiovascular disease and holds joint emeritus academic appointments at Imperial College and the National University of Ireland-Galway. He has contributed to international policy and guidelines on cardiovascular disease (CVD) prevention
through the World Health Organisation, World Heart Federation and the European Society of Cardiology. He was a founder and President of the European Association for Cardiovascular Prevention
and Rehabilitation, a Board member of the European Society of Cardiology and most recently President of the World Heart Federation (2017-18).

National Speakers

Prof Clara Chow

Professor Clara Chow
Director of the Westmead Applied Research Centre (WARC)
Professor Clara Chow is Academic Director of the Westmead Applied Research Centre (WARC), Faculty of Medicine and Health, University of Sydney. She is a cardiologist and the Program Director of Community Based Cardiac Services at Westmead hospital, Sydney, Australia. She currently holds honorary appointments as the Charles Perkins Centre Westmead Academic Co-director and President of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand. Professor Chow’s research focuses on the prevention of cardiovascular disease, innovation in the delivery of cardiovascular care and the evaluation of digital health interventions. She has expertise in the design, delivery and implementation of clinical trials. Her PhD from the University of Sydney, Australia was in cardiovascular epidemiology and international public Health and her Postdoc from McMaster University, Canada in clinical trials and cardiac imaging. She is supported by a NSW Health Clinician Scientist Fellowship.

Prof Gemma A. Figtree

Professor Gemma A. Figtree, MB BS, DPhil (Oxon), FRACP, FCSANZ, FAHA
Gemma Figtree is a Professor in Medicine at the University of Sydney. She co-leads the Cardiovascular Theme for Sydney Health Partners, a NHMRC Advanced Health Research and Translation Centre and is the Chair of the University of Sydney’s multi-disciplinary Cardiovascular Initiative. Gemma completed her DPhil at Oxford University in 2002 supported by a Rhodes Scholarship making fundamental discoveries regarding estrogen’s actions and factors regulating NO/redox balance in the cardiovascular system. Her research and clinical perspective and leadership are recognised by her membership of the Scientific Board of Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (responsible for International Relations), and her appointment to the Expert Advisory Panel for NHMRC Structural Review of Grants Program (2016-17), and as well as the Clinical Committee of the Heart Foundation.

Prof Stephen Nicholls

Prof Stephen Nicholls
Director of MonashHeart, Director of Victorian Heart Institute and Professor of Cardiology at Monash University.
Steve Nicholls is the Director of MonashHeart, Director of Victorian Heart Institute and Professor of Cardiology at Monash University. He will be the Director of the Victorian Heart Hospital. He completed his cardiology training at John Hunter Hospital and PhD at the University of Adelaide, prior to holding a postdoctoral fellowship and faculty appointment at the Cleveland Clinic and the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute. His research interests focus on the role of metabolic risk factors and imaging in atherosclerosis, with work spanning from early discovery to leadership of large clinical trials. He is Chair of the Australian Atherosclerosis Society Clinical Council, Australia and New Zealand Alliance for Cardiovascular Trials, Asia Pacific Cardiometabolic Consortium, Secretary of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

Heart Failure


Prof Carolyn Lam

Professor Carolyn Lam
Clinician Scientist at the National Heart Centre Singapore
Prof Carolyn Lam is a clinician–scientist, a senior consultant cardiologist at the National Heart Centre Singapore and a professor in the Cardiovascular and Metabolic Disorders Programme at DukeNational University of Singapore Medical School. She is recognised globally for her work on heart failure with preserved ejection fraction. She also has expertise in women’s cardiovascular disease, haemodynamics, echocardiography, biomarkers, and clinical trials.

Prof Frank Ruschitzka

Professor Frank Ruschitzka, MD, FRCP (Edinburgh), FESC
Prof Ruschitzka is Chairman of the Department of Cardiology at the University Hospital in Zürich, Switzerland. Professor Ruschitzka received his medical degree from the University of Göttingen in Germany in 1989. He is specialized in internal medicine, nephrology and cardiology at the Universities of Göttingen and Zürich. In 2001, he received the Cardiovascular Science Award of the Swiss Society of Cardiology as well as the Annual Award of the Swiss Society of Hypertension. In 2003, he was awarded the annual Götz-Preis of the Medical Faculty of the University of Zürich for excellence in clinical medicine and research.

In respect of Henry Krum and the 4CCardiology biennial event, Frank will also host the Krum Memorial Lecture.

Acute Coronary Syndrome (ACS)


Dr Deepak Bhatt

Dr Deepak L. Bhatt
Executive Director of Interventional Cardiovascular Programs at Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Deepak L. Bhatt MD, MPH, is Executive Director of Interventional Cardiovascular Programs at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Bhatt has over 1600 publications and has been listed by the Web of Science as a Highly Cited Researcher. He is the Editor of the peer-reviewed Journal of Invasive Cardiology and Editor-in-Chief of the Harvard Heart Letter for patients. He received the Eugene Braunwald Teaching Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Clinical Cardiology from Brigham and Women’s Hospital in 2017, ACC’s Distinguished Mentor Award in 2018, and AHA’s Distinguished Scientist Award in 2019.


Invited speakers coming soon.

Join Us In Sydney